Get Help on using the Artist Description section




fter playing with U.F.O. and the Scorpions, guitarist Michael Schenker decided to go solo in 1980. He recruited Gary Barden (vocals), Simon Philips (drums), Mo Foster (bass) and Don Airey (keyboards) to form the Michael Schenker Group (later shortened to just MSG). Much in the style as his previous playing partners, Schenker maintained his screaming guitar style, but that's about all he kept. Operating like a little emperor with full control of the outfit, the pretty-faced Schenker would hire and fire musicians almost at will and on a whim, thus making his group's line-up forever unstable. Signed to 'Chrysalis', their debut The Michael Schenker Group (1980) came and went, but by the time their second album, MSG (1981), had emerged Barden with Schenker himself stood as the only survivor, with Cozy Powell (drums), Chris Glen (ex-Sensational Alex Harvey Band; bass) and Paul Raymond (ex-U.F.O.; keyboards) replacing the rest.

They received acclaim in Asia, where they recorded the live double set One Night At Budoken (1982) at the Budokan Hall in Tokyo, Japan. Ironically, it was this Asian album that got them notice in Europe.

Barden would finally be removed, however, and be replaced with Graham Bonnet. Ted McKenna (ex-Rory Gallagher; drums) was also recruited for Assault Attack, their 1982 album. This album was far more blues based than the previous works, due much to the influence of Bonnet. It wasn't to last, for Schenker fired Bonnet shortly after the album's release to bring back Barden. Their next two albums, Built To Destroy (1983) and Rock WIll Never Die (1984), contributed little to their repertoire by featuring rehashed ideas and a highly formulated structure. Even vocalist and ex-Ted Nugent member Derek Holmes couldn't help, same for Andy Nye (keyboards) while on tour. Barden had apparently had enough and quit to form Statetrooper with the rest of MSG falling apart soon after.

Schenker returned to Germany but didn't stay quiet for long. He quickly teamed up with Robin McCauley (ex-Grand Prix/ex-Far Corporation; vocals) to form the McCauley-Schenker Group (still using the MSG acronym). They completed the new band with Steve Mann (keyboards), Rocky Newton (bass), Mitch Perry (guitar) and Bobo Schopf (drums). They concentrated on a more melodic direction, and it appeared that McCauley was someone Schenker could work with.

Their first two albums Perfect Timing (1987) and Save Yourself (1989) established them a new solid fan base and a new record company 'EMI', as well as a new line up shortly after of Jeff Pilson (ex-Dokken; bass) and James Kottak (ex-Kingdom Come; drums). The follow-up self-titled MSG (1992; LP version published as Schenker-McAuley) was hated universally but the group trudged on with Written In The Sand (1997) and Flying God (1999) after. The next set, Adventures In The Imagination (2000), featured veterin drummer Aynsley Dunbar.


Get Help on using the Artist Dashboard section

Nation Germany
City Unknown
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Heavy Metal
Formations/Versions 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1982-
E-Mail Unknown
Old RRCA File Code REV00358
New Reference Code 387

Get Help on using the See Also section

See also these artists mentioned in this article:

Scorpions Dokken Ted Nugent
Kingdom Come Kingdom Come