Get Help on using this section.


Corrosion Of Conformity


riginally named No Labels, the Hardcore crossover act Corrosion Of Conformity (a.k.a. C.O.C.) was formed in 1982, by Reed Mullin (drums), Woody Weatherman (guitar) and Mike Dean (bass/vocals). They became known primarily for their live shows.

Eye For An Eye (1984) (with vocals by Eric Eycke), mixed Black Sabbath and Deep Purple power riffing with Hardcore speed. It was their next release, Animosity (1985), which featured a more Metallic style without loosing their Hardcore or aggressive feel. It also saw the departure of Eycke. Technocracy (1987) featured ex-Ugly Americans vocalist Simon Bob replacing Aycke, and cash in on the rise of the Thrash Metal movement. Shortly later, however, the loss of Bob and Dean would lead to the band's collapse.

The aptly titled, Six Songs With Mike Singing (1990), appeared to be their last, but an 11th hour reprise occurred when Mullin and Weatherman were joined by Karl Agell (ex-School Of Violence; vocals), Pepper Keenan (ex-Down/ex-Graveyard Rodeo; guitar/vocals) and Phil Swisher (bass). Tours with D.R.I. and Danzig got them a new record deal. A slower, more melodic feel was added to their still heavy style. Blind NYC 1991 (1991) saw them adopt a more political attitude to their Hardcore sound by challenging social, political and ecological issues. Success with the single Vote With A Bullet (1992), and live appearances with Soundgarden brought them of age and into their finest hour, 'Columbia' used major label muscle to push it into the U.S. top 200.

Deliverance (1994) saw Agell and Swisher leave, while Keenen took up vocals and Dean returned. Yet more diversity to their sound was added with southern Rock and Thin-Lizzy like guitar harmonies. Although a strong, well received and radio played album, it saw the beginning of the softening of their Hardcore sound. Because of its crossover appeal, however, the audience in the U.K. was now wide enough to grace them with a 43 chart position on their next effort, Wiseblood (1996). America's Volume Dealer (2000) and Live Volume (Live) (2001; a live effort) have continued their recent southern Rock style trend with Jimmy Bower (ex-Down/ex-Crowbar/ex-Eyehategod) on drums replacing Reed Mullen.

Get Help on using this section.

Nation USA
City Raleigh, North Carolina
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Metalcore
Formations/Versions 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1982-
E-Mail Unknown
Old RRCA File Code REV00406
New Reference Code 408

Get Help on using this section.

See also these artists mentioned in this article:

DRI Black Sabbath Deep Purple
Soundgarden Danzig Down
Crowbar Eyehategod