Angel Witch


hen Angel Witch was started by songwriter, vocalist and guitarist Kevin Heybourne along with Kevin Riddles (bass/vocals) and Dave Dufort (drums) it was the start of the NWOBHM movement that swepped the heavy metal genre at the turn of the 1980s. Updating and regurgitating the occult imagery and riffing of Black Sabbath they released the one-off 75 UK charting single Sweet Danger for 'E.M.I.' (also home to Iron Maiden). The single proved to be the best of their career for the follow-up self-titled debut album on the 'Bronze' label, although noteworthy failed to chart, as did the follow-up EP Loser in1981, causing the act to disband with the entire rhythm section going off to form Tytan. To this day, however, the debut album would remain a classic and a defining moment of the NWOBHM genre, containing such tracks as Angel Witch and Angel Of Death that influenced acts like Candlemass years later.

In late 1984, with the NWOBHM movement still in full force Heybourne reformed the act with a new line-up featuring Peter Gordelier (ex-Blind Fury; bass), Dave Hogg (percussion; who was subsequently replaced with Spencer Holman) and Dave Tattum (vocals; replacement for temporary man Lou Taylor) to release Screamin' 'N' Bleedin' (1985) and the Frontal Assault (1986) to little notice. A new membership list was established again with Heybourne and Gordelier recruiting Grant "Taco Bell" Dennis replacing Tattum resulting in the live effort Live in 1990, an album that, again, was met with an ice cold reception and the band folded yet again.

The next attempt formed in the mid 1990s with the release of '82 Revisited (1996; live) a sort of live "best of..." with rapid changing of drummers during the line-up of Kevin Heybourne (guitar/vocals), Jon Torres (guitar/bass), Mick Taylor (guitar/keyboards), Pete Gordelier (bass), Spencer Hollman (drums), Tom Hunting (drums/back. vocals), Darren Minter (drums)to record other "best ofs..."Sinister History (1999) and Resurrection (2000) before the line-up settled with Kevin Heybourne (guitar/vocals), Keith Herzberg (guitar), Ritchie Wicks (ex-Shadow Keep/ex-Tygers Of Pan Tang; bass/vocals), Scott Higham (drums) to release another live set 2000: Live At The LA 2 (2001) that made no impression on the charts. But over 2002 there was more line-up changes and after Heybourne was reunited with a bunch of San Francisco buddies, the latest was established with Kevin Heybourne (guitar/vocals), Jon Torres (ex-Laaz Rockitt/ex-The Lord Weird Slough Feg; guitar/bass),Lee Altus (ex-Heathen; guitar), Darren Minter (ex-Heathen; drums); this line-up would disband in 2002 then reform in 2003.

Artist Dashboard:

Nation UK
City Unknown
Promotional Address Unknown
Reformations 2
Web Unknown
Active Years 1979-1981, 1984-
E-Mail Unknown
RRCA File Code UC000019
Diskery ID 473

Go Backward 1 Biography
Go Forward 1 Biography
Buy Their Stuff
Return to Search Page
Help with this page


Search Pattern:

Artist National Flag

Artist Picture not available

Buy Their Stuff

Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too.