Get Help on using the Artist Description section




riginally featuring Trevor Robinson (vocals), Russ Tippins (guitar), Steve Ramsey (guitar), Randy Reed (drums) and Graeme English (bass), Satan was formed from the ashes of Blitzkrieg. In 1981 the band provided two tracks to the Roxcalibur compilation and financed their own single release of Kiss Of Death. But shortly after the single's release Robinson left to be replaced by Ian Swift, who in turn was soon after replaced by Brian Ross (ex-Blitzkreig). Through their shows and the underground tape-trading network they gained a following for themselves until they attracted the attention of ‘Noise Records', with their debut album Court In The Act following in 1984. The album featured Thrash/Speed Metal arrangements and was well received but it, as well as the band as a whole, was a case of “deserved better” for both their name and their style (not popular in England during the height of the NWOBHM movement) failed to help them. And, indeed, it became clear that the album's sales were stifled by the band's name, Satan. With such a name one would expect them to be a Black Metal or a Death act at the very least, so they changed their name to Blind Fury, and replaced Ross with Lou Taylor on vocals.

Out Of Reach followed in 1985 and didn't fare much better than its elder brother so vocalists were changed again this time to Michael Jackson (not “the” Michael Jackson of Thriller fame) and reverted back to their former name Satan. A new demo attracted German based ‘Steamhammer Records' to release Into The Future (1986) but poor production halted its expansion into commercial success. The follow-up Suspended Sentence (1987) also failed. With label management pressure they changed their name again, this time to Pariah, but this version of the act only managed two more releases The Kindered (1988) and Blaze Of Obscurity (1989), both also failed and the act threw in the towel a year later.

As Pariah, the group would reunite with Steve Ramsey, Russ Tippins, Graeme English hiring new members Alan Hunter (vocals) and Ian McCormack (drums) for the one-off Unity (1997).

Footnote: No relation to the American Band by the same name.

Get Help on using the Artist Dashboard section

Nation UK
City Newcastle upon-Tyne
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Thrash Metal
Formations/Versions 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1981-1990
E-Mail Unknown
Old RRCA File Code UC000227
New Reference Code 680

Get Help on using the See Also section

See also these artists mentioned in this article: